Reviews - Ray Davies, October, 2002, UK Tour

Oct. 6, 2002: Birmingham Symphony Hall, Birmingham

Date: October 7, 2002, 7:17 AM
From: Rob T.

I saw Ray last night and he really is on top form. He did a few new tracks from his forthcoming release (next year he said), and a lot of Kinks songs. He also said further Kinks recordings are possible in the future. I stood ten feet away from him while he sang Waterloo Sunset and Lola and even got to shake my hero's hand. I had the feeling he was revelling in a bit of freedom from the Kinks and it was nice to hear him speak fondly of Dave. The show ran for over two hours and I enjoyed every minute.

At the end he thanked everyone for still coming to see him without the Kinks. He looked as though he didn't want to leave, and I was close enough to see that he seemed a little choked up over how much everybody loved him.


p.s. You need a good guitarist to replace Dave and he's got one.

Date: October 7, 2002, 2:51 PM
From: Tez

i whent to BIRMINGHAM on sunday ithought he was very very good but i have to say i was not impressed by his backing musicians. may be its because i think no matter what he or his brother does they will never match the magic they create together.

Date: October 13, 2002, 1:41 PM
From: Chris

I went to the recent Ray Davies concert at the Birmingham Symphony Hall. I thought Ray put in a superb performance in with the help of a very good backing band. He performed a mixture of songs ranging from Kinks classics to new material from his forthcoming album.

Date: October 27, 2002, 14:58:17
From: Frank B.

went to see ray in birmingham october 6TH great show. his singing as never been better. it was nice to hear some new songs from which i hope will soon appear on cd. the band he had with him were a tight outfit but like most fans we wish for a kinks tour.

i am and have been an avid kinks fan since 1964 and have collected vinyl , cdS videos and books over many years. i have met ray twice once at a book signing for xray and at the stage door at a storyteller gig in liverpool. he was very pleasant and easy to talk to which was very refreshing in a world of so many egotistical people.

anyway the pub calls.

Oct. 7, 2002: Cambridge Corn Exchange, Cambridge

Oct. 8, 2002: Colston Hall, Bristol

Oct. 10, 2002: The Stables, Wavendon

Oct. 12, 2002: Warwick Arts Center, Coventry

Oct. 14, 2002: St. David's Hall, Cardiff

Date: October 17, 2002, 13:08:07
From: David C.

this was a great well as the usual old songs Ray played several new ones such as stand up comic,creatures of little faith and perhaps best of all to end act 1 a song I think is called the morning after could be a ray rock classic this one.

ray referred to his solo album as being half finished and due for release next year, there were many references to Dave watch out for a reunion next year and maybe rays solo album becoming a new Kinks album.

Oct. 16, 2002: Bournemouth International Centre, Bournemouth

Date: October 17, 2002, 08:30:31
From: Dave R.

Thought I'd let you know how enjoyable the concert was, and how professional Ray is even after all his years in the pop business. The band were great (if a tad loud) and very together - the new songs came across well and left me salivating for the CD!! He can still cut the mustard, no doubt about it. A spendid evening.

Oct. 17, 2002: The Royal Centre, Nottingham

Oct. 19, 2002: The Newcastle Opera House, Newcastle

Date: October 22, 2002 5:05 PM
From: Alfred R.

Newcastle last weekend; Ray at the Opera House.

What a difference to the Dranouter festival in Belgium. I was a bit disappointed then but now, for me, Ray is back at the very top! This time the band sounded just GREAT on wonderful and sometimes surprising versions of both old and new songs. Ray himself was in fine shape (no hat, no shades) with a beautiful and powerful voice. He really looked very happy! There were many, many highlights in the show. In spite of the Opera House personal that urged everyone to remain seated the place was rocking in the end with excited and screaming (21 year old Caroline from Mexico!) fans rushing to the front! Surely this must have been the best night on the tour. I mean how much better can it get? I am so glad I came...:-)

Date: October 29, 2002 5:05 PM
From: Steve D.

Review of Ray Davies concert Newcastle Opera House Sat. 19TH October 2002

As a title of a kinks classic goes "Where have all the good times gone"? The answer was the good times came rolling back at the opera house Newcastle last weekend.

Ray Davies came on stage to a deafening applause as he started his solo set playing such classics as Dedicated Follower of Fashion, Well Respected Man and Dead End Street. Aussie Mark Johns then ably accompanied him on stage on guitar. Ray went on to prove that he has not lost his ability to write outstanding songs with some new material, songs such as Next Door Neighbour and Stand Up Comic with trade mark lyrics reflecting life as he sees it.

The second set was again mixed with old time classics and new songs when he was also accompanied on stage by Toby Baron on drums and Dick Nolan on bass guitar, if this concert was anything to go by his first solo album will be well worth listening to when it is expected for release in early 2003 an amazing 40 years since he broke on to the music scene with THE KINKS.

Tired Of Waiting, All Day And All Of The Night, Twentieth Century Man, Tired Of Waiting, Set Me Free and To The Bone all drew thunderous applause from a very appreciative audience whose enthusiasm could not be subdued by an over officious opera house staff who ended up just letting everyone carry on enjoying themselves by singing and dancing along watching a legend at work. There certainly was a brilliant party atmosphere at the Opera House with no one in the sell out crowd going home disappointed you really had to be there to understand how special this concert was, the fans were treated to two encores which included Waterloo Sunset, Lola and Days.

So thank you Ray Davies for the Day and all of the night at the Opera House!


Oct. 21, 2002: The Regent Theatre, Ipswich

Oct. 23, 2002: The Colosseum, Watford

Oct. 25, 2002: Brighton Dome, Brighton

Date: October 27, 2002, 14:32
From: Claude M.

Was in brighton this friday and it was a great show.. Ray is the best. I send you some pictures about ray ( talking with me !!!) I was a great moment for me to talk with ray and to touch him!!! I saw Olga, and took a picture with her.

[See the photos in Well Respected Fans.]

Oct. 27, 2002: The Anvil, Basingstoke

Date: October 27, 2002, 18:14:39
From: Martin E.

Ray Davies is back rocking and it was great to see. Ray's last visit to Basingstoke was last year and he played what proved to be the last incarnation of the Storyteller show. Having seen the Kinks/Ray/Dave every year for the last 30 I left last year's show worried. Ray looked and sounded tired then...but not tonight. He is back, looking and sounding great. Having a rock band behind him makes a big difference and it is as close to the Kinks as we seen likely to get. Ray was in great form getting an initial quiet audience involved and finally to its feet. 4 new songs were featured in the first half and Ray said the new album would be 'next year'. He also played two songs from the recent tribute album about which he seemed particularly pleased.

As well as the usual hits there was a rocking version of London, 20th Century Man and to the Bone plus a rendition of Set Me Free with a lovely guitar solo as on the 'To the Bone Album'. In response to an audience request he also played 'Alcohol' as part of the first of two encores. The final song -Days (also as on to the Bone) was particularly stunning.

This tour is definitely not to be missed.

Oct. 29, 2002: Southport Theatre, Southport

Date: October 30, 2002, 11:21 AM
From: Geoff and Pam

Started work 0600 Tuesday so that we could finish at 1400. Caught the train from Doncaster tp Southport, arriving at 1755. Booked into a guest house and made our way to the theatre. What a superb venue Southport Theatre is.

The review of the Newcastle gig contained on the website made our minds up that we just had to attend, irrespective of the distance.

Show started 1950 with Ray coming onto the stage to raptuous applause.
The review explains all.

By the end of the night the audience were on their feet clapping and begging for more.

Left Southport 0635 this morning, straight back to work and worth every minute.

Brilliant website.
Geoff and Pam

Oct. 30, 2002: Usher Hall, Edinburgh

Oct. 31, 2002: Bridgewater Hall, Manchester

Date: November 9, 2002
From: Rachael A.

What can I say? Could Raymond Douglas Davies be the greatest singer/songwriter of the 20th/21st century? I think we all know the answer is yes. All Hallows eve, what a night to have a spiritual experience! Ray was on fantastic form, as were the supporting musicians. The set included some excellent new songs, all of which went down a treat with the audience. My particular favourites being 'Stand Up Comic' and 'Brown Envelope', not sure if they are the right titles, but if you're going to see him on this tour, listen out for them, they are a treat! We were also treated to many old favourites, Ray's Bossa Nova version of 'No Return' is beautiful! Three encores including 'Waterloo Sunset', 'Days', 'Low Budget' and of course 'Lola', the audience reacted as expected! I've seen Ray three times now, and this gig was special. Ray seemed particularly to enjoy himself. I had the privilage of meeting him after the show, he lived up to all my expectations. I finally had to the chance to say thanks for writing the most beautiful songs I've ever heard. Thank you Ray, you are indeed a poet and undeniably a legend.

Nov. 1, 2002: Philharmonic Hall, Liverpool